Minutes are intended to note: (a) the date, time and place of the meeting; (b) those members of the public body who were present and those who were absent; and (c) the substance of all matters proposed, discussed and/or action was taken on. Minutes are not intended to be a verbatim report of a meeting. An audiotape recording of the meeting is available for inspection by any member of the public interested in a verbatim report of the meeting. These minutes are not final until approved by the Board of Regents at the March 2017 meeting.

## UNIVERSITY OF NEVADA, RENO FOUNDATION MEETING OF THE MEMBERS OF THE CORPORATION

Student Union, Ballrooms B & C University of Nevada, Las Vegas 4505 S. Maryland Parkway, Las Vegas Friday, December 2, 2016

Video Conference Connection from the Meeting Site to:

System Administration, Reno
2601 Enterprise Road, Conference Room
and
Great Basin College, Elko
1500 College Parkway, Berg Hall Conference Room

Members Present: Mr. Rick Trachok, Chairman

Dr. Andrea Anderson Mr. Cedric Crear

Dr. Mark W. Doubrava

Dr. Jason Geddes Mr. Trevor Hayes

Mr. James Dean Leavitt Mr. Sam Lieberman Mr. Kevin C. Melcher Mr. Kevin J. Page Mr. Michael B. Wixom

Members Absent: Mr. Robert Davidson

Ms. Allison Stephens

Chairman Rick Trachok called the meeting to order at 9:35 a.m. with all members present except Regents Davidson, Lieberman and Stephens.

- 1. Information Only Public Comment None.
- 2. <u>Approved Annual Report</u> The Members of the Corporation approved the University of Nevada, Reno (UNR) Foundation Annual Report, including the annual gift report, as presented by Mr. Gerald C. Smith, Chair, Board of Trustees, UNR Foundation. (*Ref. UNR-2 on file in the Board Office.*)

Mr. Smith reported on the Foundation's fiscal year and new building growth on campus. The Foundation received \$43,300,000 in gifts in fiscal year 2016. The Foundation gave \$38,700,000 in gifts to UNR in fiscal year 2016, with \$7,000,000 as scholarships to 2,600 students. The Foundation's audit report provided an unqualified opinion and did not offer a management letter.

Regent Lieberman entered the meeting.

2. <u>Approved – Annual Report – (Continued)</u>

Regent Page left the meeting. Regent Geddes entered the meeting.

Chair Trachok thanked Mr. Smith for his work on behalf of UNR.

Regent Geddes moved approval of the UNR Foundation Annual Report. Regent Leavitt seconded. Motion carried. Regents Davidson, Page and Stephens were absent.

3. <u>Information Only – Officers</u> – The following officers were selected to serve as officers for the 2017 Executive Committee: (*Ref. UNR-3 on file in the Board Office.*)

John K. Creighton, Chair

Joseph S. Bradley, Chair-Elect and Vice Chair, Nominating

Dean R. Byrne, Vice Chair, Investment

Kelli R. Newman, Vice Chair, Special Events and Public Affairs

Jeffrey R. Rodefer, Vice Chair, Governance

Gene E. McClelland, Vice Chair, Development

Gerald C. Smith, Vice Chair, Gifts and Acquisitions and Immediate Past Chair

Felicia R. O'Carroll, Vice Chair, Audit and Finance

Sara M. Lafrance, Member at Large

Ann Ronald, Member at Large

- 4. <u>Approved Consent Items</u> The Members of the Corporation approved the UNR Foundation consent items.
  - 4a. <u>Approved Financial Statements and Management Letter</u> The Members of the Corporation approved the University of Nevada, Reno Foundation audited Financial Statements for the year ended June 30, 2016, and the Athletic Association, University of Nevada audited Financial Statements for the year ended June 30, 2016, along with the top 10-payee schedules for each organization. There are no Management Letters. (*Ref. UNR-4a(1) and Ref. UNR-4a(2) on file in the Board Office.*)
  - 4b. <u>Approved Appointments The Members of the Corporation approved the appointment of the following individuals to its Board of Trustees for terms 2017-2018: (Ref. UNR-3 on file in the Board Office.)</u>

Dina M. Hunsberger Charles A. Jeannes Adam O. Kramer Felicia R. O'Carroll Chad A. Osorno James A. Pagliarini Andy B. Wallace

- 4. Approved Consent Items (Continued)
  - 4c. <u>Approved Reappointments The Members of the Corporation approved the reappointment of the following individuals to its Board of Trustees for terms 2017-2018: (Ref. UNR-3 on file in the Board Office.)</u>

## Second Term

Joseph S. Bradley

Dennis P. Bryan

Mark H. Denzler

Mick J. Hitchcock

Kelli R. Newman

Gerald C. Smith

Victor A. Williams

## Third Term

Dean R. Byrne

John K. Creighton

Sara M. Lafrance

Ronald L. Parratt

Jeffrey P. Resnik

Mary O. Simmons

Thomas K. Witter

4d. <u>Approved – Trustee Emeriti</u> – The Members of the Corporation approved bestowing Trustee Emeriti status on the following: (*Ref. UNR-3 on file in the Board Office.*)

Robert E. Armstrong

Annette Bidart

Brett E. Coleman

Stuart R. Engs, Jr.

William N. Evans

Senator Mark A. Lipparelli

A. Dan Rovig

Ellen F. Whittemore

- 4e. <u>Approved Foundation Amended Bylaws</u> The Members of the Corporation approved the amended bylaws submitted by the Foundation Chair and Board of Trustees as follows: (*Ref. UNR-4e on file in the Board Office.*)
  - Amendment to Article V Section 3(d) and 3(f) that would merge the Program and Special Events Committee and the Public Affairs and Advocacy Committee into the Special Events and Public Affairs Committee and create the Gifts and Acquisitions Committee.

- 4. <u>Approved Consent Items (Continued)</u>
  - 4e. <u>Approved Foundation Amended Bylaws (Continued)</u>
    - 2) Amendment to Article VI Section 3(e) and 3(f) that designates the chair of the Special Events and Programs Committee and the Gifts and Acquisitions Committee.

Regent Geddes moved approval of the UNR Foundation consent items. Regent Leavitt seconded. Motion carried. Regents Davidson, Page and Stephens were absent.

- 5. <u>Information Only New Business None.</u>
- 6. <u>Information Only Public Comment None.</u>

The meeting adjourned at 9:45 a.m.

Prepared by: Jenny Polek

Special Assistant and Coordinator

to the Board of Regents

Submitted for approval by: Dean J. Gould

Chief of Staff and Special Counsel

to the Board of Regents