Minutes are intended to note (a) the date, time and place of the meeting; (b) those members of the public body who were present and those who were absent; and (c) the substance of all matters proposed, discussed and/or action was taken on. Minutes are not intended to be a verbatim report of a meeting. An audiotape recording of the meeting is available for inspection by any member of the public interested in a verbatim report of the meeting. These minutes are not final until approved by the Board of Regents at the March 2016 meeting.

NEVADA STATE COLLEGE FOUNDATION MEETING OF THE MEMBERS OF THE CORPORATION

Student Union, Ballrooms B & C University of Nevada, Las Vegas 4505 S. Maryland Parkway, Las Vegas Friday, December 4, 2015

Video and Telephone Conference Connection from the Meeting Site to:

System Administration, Reno 2601 Enterprise Road, Conference Room

and

Great Basin College, Elko 1500 College Parkway, Berg Hall Conference Room

Members Present: Mr. Rick Trachok, Chairman

Mr. Michael B. Wixom, Vice Chairman

Dr. Andrea Anderson

Mr. Cedric Crear (via telephone)

Mr. Robert Davidson Dr. Mark W. Doubrava

Dr. Jason Geddes Mr. Trevor Hayes

Mr. James Dean Leavitt Mr. Sam Lieberman Mr. Kevin C. Melcher Mr. Kevin J. Page Ms. Allison Stephens

Chairman Rick Trachok called the meeting to order at 10:09 a.m. with all members present.

- 1. Information Only Public Comment None.
- 2. <u>Approved Annual Report</u> The Members of the Corporation recommended approval of the Nevada State College (NSC) Foundation Annual Report, as presented by Mr. David M. Grant, chair, NSC Foundation.

Mr. Grant reported on the NSC Foundation's fiscal year, fundraising, and Board of Trustees. The Foundation received an unqualified opinion.

Regent Allison Stephens moved approval of the NSC Foundation Annual Report. Regent Andrea Anderson seconded.

Regent Kevin J. Page stated it sent a positive message to have 100 percent participation from the Foundation Board of Trustees.

2. <u>Approved – Annual Report</u> – (Continued)

Regent Anderson congratulated the Foundation on its Presidents Award from the Association of Fundraising Professionals.

Regent Stephens stated she was impressed with the Foundation's work and its enthusiasm for the college.

Chancellor Daniel J. Klaich announced Ms. Hannah Brown received the Fredrick Douglass Humanitarian Award.

Motion carried.

3. <u>Information Only – Officers</u> – The following individuals were selected by the NSC Foundation Board of Trustees to serve as the officers of the Foundation from January 1, 2016, through December 31, 2016:

David M. Grant, Chairman Kristi Overgaard, Vice Chair Sherry Colquitt, Secretary Dan H. Stewart, Treasurer

- 4. <u>Approved Consent Items</u> The Members of the Corporation recommended approval of the NSC Foundation consent items.
 - 4a. <u>Approved Financial Statements and Management Letter</u> The Members of the Corporation recommended approval of the NSC Foundation Financial Statements, Management Letter and top 10 payee schedule for the year ended June 30, 2015. (*Ref. NSC-4a(1) and Ref. NSC-4a(2) on file in the Board Office.*)
 - 4b. <u>Approved Appointments</u> The Members of the Corporation recommended approval of the following appointments:

NSC Foundation Trustees

The Members of the Corporation recommended approval of the appointment of the following individuals to the NSC Board of Trustees beginning January 1, 2016:

Alfredo T. Alonso Michael F. Bolognini Teressa M. Conley Thomas O. Cordy Elaine Hodgson Scott Raymer Charles R. Rinehart

- 4. Approved Consent Items (*Continued*)
 - 4b. Approved Appointments (Continued)

NSC Foundation Planned Giving Committee

The Members of the Corporation recommended approval of the appointment of the following individuals to the NSC Board of Trustees Planned Giving Committee for a one-year term beginning January 1, 2016:

Kristy L. Black Omar Nagy Lizette Sundvick Jason C. Walker

4c. <u>Approved – Reappointments</u> – The Members of the Corporation recommended approval of the reappointment of the following individuals to the NSC Board of Trustees for three-year terms beginning January 1, 2016:

Mike Benjamin John R. Gibson Andy Hafen

Note: The following individuals are also serving as trustees.

Second Year

Jeffrey L. Burr Dane Carter James B. Gibson Alison Kasner Dan K. Shaw Dan H. Stewart

Third Year

Hannah M. Brown Glenn Christenson Sherry Colquitt Daniel T. Gerety David Grant William E. Martin Kristi Overgaard Tony F. Sanchez, III William C. Wortman

Regent Page moved approval of the NSC Foundation consent items. Regent Sam Lieberman seconded. Motion carried.

- 5. <u>Information Only New Business</u> None.
- 6. Information Only Public Comment None.

The meeting adjourned at 10:22 a.m.

Prepared by: Angela R. Palmer

Special Assistant and Coordinator

to the Board of Regents

Submitted for approval by: Dean J. Gould

Chief of Staff and Special Counsel

to the Board of Regents