Minutes are intended to note (a) the date, time and place of the meeting; (b) those members of the public body who were present and those who were absent; and (c) the substance of all matters proposed, discussed and/or action was taken on. Minutes are not intended to be a verbatim report of a meeting. An audiotape recording of the meeting is available for inspection by any member of the public interested in a verbatim report of the meeting. These minutes are not final until approved by the Board of Regents at the March 2016 meeting.

UNIVERSITY OF NEVADA, RENO FOUNDATION MEETING OF THE MEMBERS OF THE CORPORATION

Student Union, Ballrooms B & C University of Nevada, Las Vegas 4505 S. Maryland Parkway, Las Vegas Friday, December 4, 2015

Video and Telephone Conference Connection from the Meeting Site to:

System Administration, Reno 2601 Enterprise Road, Conference Room

and

Great Basin College, Elko 1500 College Parkway, Berg Hall Conference Room

Members Present: Mr. Rick Trachok, Chairman

Mr. Michael B. Wixom, Vice Chairman

Dr. Andrea Anderson

Mr. Cedric Crear (via telephone)

Mr. Robert Davidson Dr. Mark W. Doubrava

Dr. Jason Geddes Mr. Trevor Hayes

Mr. James Dean Leavitt Mr. Sam Lieberman Mr. Kevin C. Melcher Mr. Kevin J. Page Ms. Allison Stephens

Chairman Rick Trachok called the meeting to order at 10:30 a.m. with all members present except Regents Robert Davidson and Kevin C. Melcher.

- 1. Information Only Public Comment None.
- 2. <u>Approved Annual Report</u> The Members of the Corporation recommended approval of the University of Nevada, Reno (UNR) Foundation Annual Report, including the Annual Gift Report, as presented by Ms. Mary O. Simmons, chair, UNR Foundation. (*Ref. UNR-2 on file in the Board Office.*)
 - Ms. O. Simmons reported on the UNR Foundation's fiscal year, fundraising, and Board of Trustees. The Foundation received an unqualified opinion.

Regents Davidson and Melcher entered the meeting.

Regent Jason Geddes moved approval of the UNR Foundation Annual Report. Regent Michael B. Wixom seconded.

2. <u>Approved – Annual Report</u> – (Continued)

Vice Chairman Wixom thanked the Foundation for its hospitality at the Foundation dinner. He congratulated the Foundation on its investment returns. He also asked who determines how the money is distributed to the University.

Regents Mark W. Doubrava and Trevor Hayes left the meeting.

Mr. John Carothers, Vice President, Development and Alumni Relations, stated the distributions are solely based on donor gift restrictions. Vice Chairman Wixom asked if there were any unrestricted gifts. Mr. Carothers stated there was a total of \$15 million in unrestricted funds.

Motion carried. Regents Doubrava and Hayes were absent.

3. <u>Information Only – Officers</u> – The following individuals were selected by the UNR Foundation Board of Trustees to serve as officers for the 2016 Executive Committee: (*Ref. UNR-3 on file in the Board Office.*)

Mr. Gerald C. Smith, Chair

Mr. John K. Creighton, Chair-Elect and Vice Chair, Governance

Mr. Robert E. Armstrong, Vice Chair, Investment

Ms. Kelli R. Newman, Vice Chair, Programs and Special Events

Mr. Jeffrey R. Rodefer, Vice Chair, Audit and Finance

Mr. Joseph P. Bradley, Vice Chair, Nominating

Mr. Gene E. McClelland, Vice Chair, Development

Mrs. Sara M. Lafrance, Vice Chair, Public Affairs and Advocacy

Dr. Ann Ronald, Member at Large

Ms. Annette Bidart, Member at Large

Ms. Mary O. Simmons, Immediate Past Chair

- 4. <u>Approved Consent Items</u> The Members of the Corporation recommended approval of the UNR Foundation consent items.
 - 4a. <u>Approved Financial Statements and Management Letter</u> The Members of the Corporation recommended approval of the UNR Foundation Audited Financial Statements, the Athletic Association, University of Nevada Audited Financial Statements and top 10 payee schedules for the year ended June 30, 2015. There are no Management Letters. (*Ref. UNR-4a(1) and Ref. UNR-4a(2) on file in the Board Office.*)
 - 4b. <u>Approved Appointments</u> The Members of the Corporation recommended approval of the appointment of the following individuals to the UNR Foundation Board of Trustees for terms 2016-2017: (*Ref. UNR-3 on file in the Board Office.*)

New Trustees:

Ms. Deena G. Behnke

Mr. Kenneth A. Brunk

Mr. Gary R. Clemons

Dr. John E. Dooley

Mr. Daniel W. Kappes

- 4. <u>Approved Consent Items</u> (*Continued*)
 - 4c. <u>Approved Reappointments</u> The Members of the Corporation recommended approval of the reappointment of the following individuals to the UNR Foundation Board of Trustees for terms 2016-2017: (*Ref. UNR-3 on file in the Board Office.*)

Second Term

Mr. John P. Desmond

Mr. Frank Hawkins, Jr.

Dr. Lisa M. Lyons

Dr. Ann Ronald

Third Term.

Ms. Opal F. Adams

Mr. Samuel S. Arentz, III

Mr. Gene E. McClelland

Mr. William M. Pennell

Mr. Jeffrey R. Rodefer

Ms. Joan S. Zenan

4d. <u>Approved – Trustee Emeriti</u> – The Members of the Corporation recommended approval of UNR Foundation Trustee Emeriti status for the following: (*Ref. UNR-3 on file in the Board Office.*)

Mr. Deane A. Albright

Mr. Randy J. Brown

Ms. Carol Franc Buck

Mrs. Catherine Farahi

Mr. Mark W. Knobel

Ms. Felicia R. O'Carroll

Mr. Chad A. Osorno

Regent Sam Lieberman moved approval of the UNR Foundation consent items. Regent Davidson seconded. Motion carried. Regents Doubrava and Hayes were absent.

- 5. <u>Information Only New Business</u> None.
- 6. Information Only Public Comment None.

The meeting adjourned at 10:37 a.m.

Prepared by: Angela R. Palmer

Special Assistant and Coordinator

to the Board of Regents

Submitted for approval by: Dean J. Gould

Chief of Staff and Special Counsel

to the Board of Regents