Minutes are intended to note (a) the date, time and place of the meeting; (b) those members of the public body who were present and those who were absent; and (c) the substance of all matters proposed, discussed and/or action was taken on. Minutes are not intended to be a verbatim report of a meeting. An audiotape recording of the meeting is available for inspection by any member of the public interested in a verbatim report of the meeting. These minutes are not final until approved by the Board of Regents at the March 2015 meeting.

UNIVERSITY OF NEVADA, RENO FOUNDATION MEETING OF THE MEMBERS OF THE CORPORATION

Student Union, Ballrooms B & C University of Nevada, Las Vegas 4505 S. Maryland Parkway, Las Vegas Thursday, December 4, 2014

Video or Telephone Conference Connection from the Meeting Site to: System Administration, Reno 2601 Enterprise Road, Conference Room

and

Great Basin College, Elko 1500 College Parkway, Berg Hall Conference Room

Members Present:	Mr. Kevin J. Page, Chairman Mr. Rick Trachok, Vice Chairman Dr. Andrea Anderson Mr. Cedric Crear Dr. Mark W. Doubrava Dr. Jason Geddes Mr. Ron Knecht Mr. James Dean Leavitt Mr. Kevin C. Melcher Ms. Allison Stephens Mr. Michael B. Wixom
Members Absent:	Mr. Robert J. Blakely

Chairman Kevin Page called the meeting to order at 9:18 a.m. with all members present except Regents Robert Blakely and Jack Lund Schofield.

Dr. Jack Lund Schofield

- 1. <u>Information Only Public Comment</u> None.
- 2. <u>Approved Annual Report</u> The Members of the Corporation recommended approval of the University of Nevada, Reno (UNR) Foundation Annual Report, including the annual gift report, as presented by Mr. Brett Coleman, Chair, Board of Trustees, University of Nevada, Reno Foundation. (*Ref. UNR-2 on file in the Board Office.*)

Mr. Brett Coleman reported on the UNR Reno Foundation's fiscal year, annual gift report and Board of Trustees as presented in *Ref. UNR-2*.

Vice Chairman Rick Trachok moved approval of the UNR Foundation Annual Report. Regent Jason Geddes seconded. 3. <u>Information Only – Officers</u> – The following individuals were selected by the UNR Foundation Board of Trustees as the 2015 Executive Committee. (*Ref. UNR-3 on file in the Board Office.*)

> Mrs. Mary O. Simmons, Chair Mr. Gerald C. Smith, Chair Elect Mr. Robert E. Armstrong, Vice Chair, Investment Mr. Randy J. Brown, Vice Chair, Programs and Special Events Ms. Felicia R. O'Carroll, Vice Chair, Audit and Finance Mr. Joseph P. Bradley, Vice Chair, Nominating Mr. Gene E. McClelland, Vice Chair, Development Mrs. Sara M. Lafrance, Vice Chair, Development Mrs. Sara M. Lafrance, Vice Chair, Public Affairs and Advocacy Mr. John K. Creighton, Vice Chair, Governance Mr. Deane A. Albright, Member at Large Ms. Annette Bidart, Member at Large Mr. Brett Coleman, Immediate Past Chair

- 4. <u>Approved Consent Items</u> The Members of the Corporation recommended approval of the UNR Foundation consent items.
 - 4a. <u>Approved Financial Statements and Management Letter</u> The Members of the Corporation recommended approval of the UNR Foundation Audited Financial Statements along with its Management Letter for the year ended June 30, 2014, and the Athletic Association, University of Nevada Audited Financial Statements and Management Letter for the year ended June 30, 2014, along with the top 10 payee schedules for each organization. (*Ref. UNR-4a(1) & Ref. UNR-4a(2) on file in the Board Office.*)
 - 4b. <u>Approved Appointments</u> The Members of the Corporation recommended approval of the appointment of the following individuals to UNR Foundation Board of Trustees for terms 2015-2016: (*Ref. UNR-3 on file in the Board Office.*)

New Trustees:

Mr. Joseph P. Bradley Mr. Dennis P. Bryan Mr. Mark Denzler Dr. Michael J.M. Hitchcock Ms. Kelli R. Newman Mr. David Owen Roberts Mr. Gerald C. Smith Mr. Victor Williams

- 4. <u>Approved Consent Items</u> (*Continued*)
 - 4c. <u>Approved Reappointments</u> The Members of the Corporation recommended approval of the reappointment of the following individuals to the UNR Foundation Board of Trustees for terms 2015-2016: *(Ref. UNR-3 on file in the Board Office.)*

Second Term

Mr. Dean R. Byrne Mr. John K. Creighton Ms. Sara M. Lafrance Mr. Ronald L. Parratt Mr. Jeffrey P. Resnik Ms. Mary O. Simmons Mr. Thomas K. Witter

Third Term

Mr. Robert E. Armstrong Ms. Annette Bidart Mr. Brett E. Coleman Mr. Stuart R. Engs, Jr. Mr. Mark A. Lipparelli Dr. William N. Evans Mr. Allen D. Rovig Ms. Mary Ellen Smith Ms. Ellen F. Whittemore

4d. <u>Approved – Trustee Emeriti</u> - The Members of the Corporation recommended approval to bestow UNR Foundation Trustee Emeriti status on the following individuals. (*Ref. UNR-3 on file in the Board Office.*)

Mr. Paul D. Mathews Mr. Charles K. McArthur Mr. Monte L. Miller

- 4e. <u>Approved Foundation Amended Bylaws</u> The Members of the Corporation recommended approval of the UNR Foundation amended bylaws. (*Ref. UNR-4e on file in the Board Office.*)
 - 1) Amendment to Article V Section 3(b) that increases the cap on Investment Committee members to 15, three of which shall be non-trustees.

Vice Chairman Trachok moved approval of the UNR Foundation consent items. Regent Kevin Melcher seconded. Motion carried. Regents Blakely and Schofield were absent.

5. <u>Information Only – New Business</u> – None.

Chairman Page asked as they embark on the capital campaign how staffing levels will look. Mr. John Carothers, Executive Director, UNR Foundation, reported he presented his staffing level plan to the University and the University has provided additional support to meet the challenges of the campaign.

6. <u>Information Only – Public Comment</u> – None.

The meeting adjourned at 9:29 a.m.

Prepared by:

Angela R. Palmer Special Assistant and Coordinator to the Board of Regents

Submitted for approval by:

R. Scott Young Deputy Chief of Staff to the Board of Regents