Search Firm Selected for UNR Presidential Search

Nevada System of Higher Education

5550 W. Flamingo Rd., Suite C-1
Las Vegas, Nevada 89103
Tel: (702) 889-8426


Contact: John Kuhlman
(702) 889-8426 /



Search Firm Selected for UNR Presidential Search

RENO – After hearing presentations from four national executive search firms today, the ad hoc UNR Presidential Search Committee selected A.T. Kearney to lead the efforts to find a new president for the state’s only land grant university.
A.T. Kearney will be paid up to $90,000 to conduct the search to find a replacement for Dr. John Lilley who, after serving as president for the past four years, left the university for the presidency at Baylor University in Texas. The search firm will also receive up to $25,000 to cover expenses involved with the search. Payment terms are one-third initial deposit; one-third after finalists are brought to the search committee; and the balance upon successful completion of the search.
Other firms competing for the contract were Academic Search Consultation Services, Baker Parker Inc., and Korn/Ferry International.
The committee will reconvene on Feb. 3 to discuss the timeline for the search process.
Committee members include:

Regents’ ad hoc UNR Presidential Search Committee 
Dr. Stavros S. Anthony, Committee Chair
Dr. Jill Derby
Thalia M. Dondero
Douglas Roman Hill
Howard Rosenberg
James Dean Leavitt (first alternate)
Michael B. Wixom (second alternate)

UNR Presidential Search Institutional Advisory Committee

Faculty Representatives 
Dr. Stacy Burton, English Department
Dr. William Follette, Psychology Department
Greg Gardella, Teaching and Learning Technologies
Dr. Guy Hoelzer, Biology Department
Mary P. Wilson, Cooperative Extension-Southern Area

Administrative Representatives  
Melody Bayfield, Director, Parking and Transportation Services
Dr. Shannon Ellis, Vice President, Student Services
Dr. John McDonald, Dean, School of Medicine

Undergraduate Student Representative 
Jeff Champagne, ASUN President

Graduate Student Representative 
Ed Johnson, President of the Graduate Student Association

Classified/Technical Staff Representative 
Bill Oberding, Savitt Medical Library and IT Department

Affirmative Action Officer
Dr. John Burnett
Verita Black Prothrow

Community Representatives
Patty Wade-Snyder, Chair
Paul Bible
Hank Combs
Mary Conelly
Bob Davidson
Tom Hall
Dr. Ronald Kline
Warren Lerude, Reynolds School of Journalism
Mary-Ellen McMullen
Dr. Richard Morgan, Boyd School of Law
Richard Perry
Harvey Whittemore
Both committees will work together throughout the process with a recommendation from the Institutional Advisory Committee to the Regents' committee. The Regents' committee then votes on a recommendation to present to the full Board for final approval.

SEARCH FIRM PICKED                   3/3
Dr. Joseph Crowley, who previously served as UNR president for nearly 23 years, was selected by the Board of Regents serve as interim president until the search is completed.
The Nevada System of Higher Education, comprised of two doctoral-granting universities, a state college, four comprehensive community colleges and one environmental research institute, serves the educational and job training needs of the nation’s fastest growing state. As Nevada’s only system of higher education, the NSHE provides educational opportunities to more than 100,000 students and is governed by the Nevada Board of Regents.