Regents Name Distinguished Nevadan and Honorary Degree Recipients


Contact: Suzanne Ernst
(702) 889-8426

Regents Name Distinguished Nevadan and
Honorary Degree Recipients

LAS VEGAS – The Board of Regents today approved nominations for the 2005 Regents' Distinguished Nevadan award as well as honorary degree recipients.

The Distinguished Nevadan represents the most prestigious award conferred by the Board of Regents. It is bestowed upon prominent individuals who have made significant achievements that have contributed to the cultural, scientific or social advancement of Nevada. The recipients will be honored at commencements in Reno and Las Vegas in May.

The 2005 Distinguished Nevadans are:
· Ms. Franny Forsman of Las Vegas
· Mr. Jerry Keller of Las Vegas
· Ms. Evelyn Mount of Reno
· Mr. Joseph M. Neal of North Las Vegas

The Regents also approved the following honorary degrees:
· Honorary Doctorate
o Mr. Brian Greenspun, UNLV
o Associate Justice Sandra Day O’Connor, UNR
o The Honorable Colin L. Powell, UNR
· Honorary Baccalaureate
o Ms. Charlotte Danielson, NSC
o Dr. Marilyn Ray, NSC

· Honorary Associate
o Mr. Gustav Mauler, CCSN
o Dr. Paul E. Meacham, CCSN
o Mr. Adam Gonzales, TMCC
o Mr. Bruce James, TMCC
o Mr. Rick DeMar, WNCC
o Ms. Virgie Miller, WNCC

For more information on these individuals, please contact UCCSN External Relations at (702) 889-8426.

The Nevada Board of Regents is the elected, 13-member governing body for the University and Community College System of Nevada. Comprising two doctoral-granting universities, a state college, four comprehensive community colleges and one environmental research institute, the UCCSN serves the educational and job training needs of the nation’s fastest growing state. As Nevada’s only system of higher education, the UCCSN provides educational opportunities to more than 100,000 students.