UCCSN Board of Regents' Meeting Minutes
December 15-16, 1988


Pages 99-100

                         BOARD OF REGENTS


                        December 15, 1988

The Board of Regents met on the above date in the Conference

Room, System Administration building, 2601 Enterprise Road,

Reno and the Fireside Lounge, Donald Moyer Student Union, UNLV.

Members present:  Mrs. June F. Whitley, Chairman, Las Vegas

                  Dr. James Eardley, Reno

                  Mrs. Dorothy S. Gallagher, Elko

                  Mrs. Joan Kenney, Las Vegas

                  Mr. Daniel J. Klaich, Reno

                  Mrs. Carolyn M. Sparks, Las Vegas

Members absent:   Mr. Joseph M. Foley

                  Mr. Chris Karamanos

                  Mrs. Jo Ann Sheerin

Others present:   Chancellor Mark H. Dawson

                  President Robert C. Maxson

                  Mr. Ron Sparks, Vice Chancellor

                  Dr. Cheryl Bowles, UNLV Faculty Senate

                  Dr. Robert Mead, UNR Faculty Senate

                  Ms. Mary Lou Moser, Secretary

Chairman June Whitley called the special teleconference meeting

to order at 10:05 A.M. December 15, 1988, to consider two issues

regarding the UNS Estate Fund.  Regent Whitley presided in Las

Vegas.  Also in Las Vegas were Regents Kenney and Sparks.  Re-

gents Eardley and Klaich were in Reno, and Regent Gallagher was

in Elko.

 1.  Approved Handbook Change, Estate Fund

     Approved a Handbook change, Title 4, Chapter 1, Section

     20.3a, Policies and Procedures of the UNS Estate Fund, as


     3a.  Annually the Board of Regents shall establish themes

          around which applications are to be submitted; e. g.,

          computers, staff development, equipment, etc.

     If approved, items 3a through 3h would be changed to items

     3b through 3i.

     Dr. Eardley moved approval of the Handbook change regarding

     Policies and Procedures of the UNS Estate Fund.  Mrs.

     Kenney seconded.

     Dr. Eardley stated that the UNS Estate Fund Committee pre-

     viously rejected a recommendation to categorize proposals

     into "themes", but later reconsidered its position.

     Mrs. Gallagher informed the Board that Legislators have re-

     marked there are too many small proposals being requested,

     and some Legislators suggested that UNS reconsider its rec-

     ommendation to the Legislature.

     A suggestion was made to limit the proposals by using a

     dollar amount range.  Mr. Klaich opposed this suggestion

     because he felt that dollar amounts were arbitrary.

     Motion carried.

 2.  Approved Referring 1989-90 Grant Proposals to Estate Fund

     Committee for Reconsideration

     Approved referring the 1989-90 grant proposals to the Estate

     Fund Committee for reconsideration in light of additional

     information the UNS has received since these proposals were

     adopted by the Board of Regents at its August, 1988 meeting

     and revised at the November 1988 meeting.

     Mrs. Gallagher suggested Faculty Senate representatives and

     academic officers be included in Committee deliberations.

     Mrs. Sparks recommended that the Committee develop and fine

     tune the existing proposals.  She did not wish to have the

     Committee begin all over, but rather to see if the proposals

     would fit specific themes.

     Dr. Eardley moved approval to refer the 1989-90 proposals

     to the UNS Estate Fund Committee for reconsideration on

     December 19, 1988, with Faculty Senate representatives and

     academic officers included in the deliberations.  Mrs.

     Kenney seconded.

     Dr. Eardley requested that Board members who do not serve on

     the UNS Estate Fund Committee attend the meeting.

     Chairman Whitley called for a meeting to be held in Las

     Vegas sometime between the December 19 meeting and the

     January 12-13 Board of Regents meeting.

     Motion carried.

The meeting adjourned at 10:15 A.M.

                             Mary Lou Moser

                             Secretary of the Board