UCCSN Board of Regents' Meeting Minutes
May 29-30, 1905


Volume OC - Pages 367-371

Reno, Nevada

May 29, 1905

The Board of Regents of the State University met at the home of

President Stubbs at 3 o'clock P.M., Monday, May 29, 1905. Pres-

ent Regents W. W. Booher, O. J. Smith and H. S. Starrett.

The President and faculty of the University recommended for

graduation and that the following degrees and diplomas be con-

ferred upon students as follows:

School of Liberal Arts, Degree of Bachelor of Arts

Mary E. Bacon

Emily Berry

Lucy Rebecca Brannin

Mary Elizabeth Cooke

Catherine Hand

Harold Louderback (March)

Margaret Estella Mayberry

Alice Ruddell (March)

Obeline Sancherean

Upon motion of Regent Booher, seconded by Regent Starrett, de-

grees and diplomas upon the above students were approved.

School of Mines, Degree of Bachelor of Science

Halbert Boswell Bulmer

Francis Dean Bradley

Cyrus Harry Chism

Mark M. Kelly

James Nesbitt

Walker Stanley Palmer

William Hi Pearson

William Joseph Papo

Cassius Crowell Smith

Claude Leslie Smith

Charles William Stark

Upon motion of Regent Starrett, seconded by Regent Booher, de-

grees upon students in the School of Mines were confirmed.

School of Mechanical Engineering, Degree of Bachelor of Science

William J. O'Neill

Abram Hercules Steckler

School of Commerce, Degree of Bachelor of Science

John William Wright

School of General Science, Degree of Bachelor of Science

Ollie Nevada Wise

Nevada State Normal School

Doane Amy

Georgella Lawrey

Eleanor Purcell

Annie Estelle Prouty

Pearl Raush

Laura Schweis

Upon motion of Regent Booher, seconded by Regent Starrett, the

degrees upon the above students were confirmed.

President Stubbs reported that Captain R. M. Brambila of the 27

Infantry, U. S. A. was detailed as Professor of Military Science

and Tactics of the State University.

The following list comprises the Officers who have received

commissions from the Governor of Nevada and also a list of the

non-commissioned Officers:

Officers, Commissioned

H. L. Janes, Captain, Co. B

B. G. Mc Bride, Captain, Co. A

L. E. Elliott, Adjutant

C. C. Taylor, 1st Lieutenant, Co. A

W. J. O'Brien, 1st Lieutenant, Co. B

Gustan Hofman, 1st Lieutenant, Band

A. S. Hamlin, 2nd Lieutenant, Co. B

H. H. Cozier, 2nd Lieutenant, Co. A

J. D. Scott, 2nd Lieutenant and Quartermaster

Officers, Non-Commissioned

Louis Kline, Corporal, Band

P. W. Parker, Corporal, Co. A

Fred Wilson, Corporal, Co. B

C. D. Roeder, Corporal, Co. A

J. P. Arnal, Corporal, Co. B

E. F. George, Corporal, Co. B

Fred Freeman, Corporal, Co. A

Austin Cheatham, Corporal, Co. A

F. J. Ryan, Corporal Co. B

Thomas O'Brien, Corporal Co. A

John Davis, Corporal, Co. B

Milan Davidovich, Sergeant, Co. A

James Ezell, Sergeant, Band

A. C. Curran, Sergeant, Co. A

J. M. Spencer, Sergeant, Band

J. A. Champagne, Sergeant, Co. B

A. M. Boyle, Sergeant, Co. A

Earl Harrington, Sergeant, Co. A

J. D. Leavitt, Sergeant, Co. A

W. E. Borden, Sergeant, Co. A

Robert Sawyer, Sergeant, Co. A

M. B. Kennedy, Sergeant, Co. B

Chester Hart, Sergeant, Co. B

James Hart, Sergeant, Co. B

Fred B. Stewart, Sergeant Major

These commissions are to be conferred Commencement morning.

Upon motion of Regent Booher, the Secretary of the Board was in-

structed to convey a letter to Captain R. M. Brambila with ex-

pressions of good will from the Board of Regents.

The resignation of Professor B. A. Etcheverry, Associate Profes-

sor of Physics and Civil Engineering, to take effect on the 31st

of August, 1905, was accepted.

President Stubbs nominated Mr. H. L. Prather as Instructor of

Mechanical Engineering for the ensuing year. Upon motion of

Regent Booher, seconded by Regent Starrett, the nomination of

Mr. H. L. Prather was approved and his salary fixed at Seven

Hundred and Fifty dollars per annum, to take effect from Septem-

ber 1, 1905.

Upon the recommendation of President Stubbs, Professor N. E.

Wilson was elected Dean of the University from August 31, 1905

to August 31, 1906, and Consulting Professor of the Departments

of Chemistry and Dairying for the same period.

Upon the recommendation of President Stubbs, Mr. S. B. Doten was

appointed Consulting Entomologist and Meteorologist from August

31, 1905 to August 31, 1906, and Professor Romanzo Adams was

elected Dean of the Normal School from August 31, 1905 to August

31, 1906.

President Stubbs reported that scholarships had been awarded to

the following persons and class:

Unknown, Cassius Crowell Smith, $50

Alumni Scholarship to the Mining School, John Davis, $50

Hon. George S. Nixon Scholarship, Alberta Cowgill, $50

Hon. George S. Nixon Scholarship, M. P. Kennedy, $50

The Regents Class Scholarship of $75 goes to the Junior Class by

only 4/10 of 1% over the Sophomore Class.

The Chairman of the Board was authorized to make a contract with

the Reno Power Light and Water Company for as long a term of

years as possible at a reduction of 75% of the present rate for

electric lights now paying.

Minutes of May 2 read and approved.

No further business, the Board adjourned to Wednesday, May 31,

3 o'clock P.M.

Oscar J. Smith


Geo. H. Taylor